Suicide Squad movie review

It’s finally here Ladies and Gentleman!

Suicide Squad, which was just released a couple of weeks ago, faces a large task of trying to redeem the DC movie universe after the tangled mess of BVS. If you haven’t read my review of that movie than you should know that I wasn’t a big fan of that movie. Let me just say right off the bat, I saw this movie as a definite improvement over Batman V Superman. Is it perfect? No. There are a number of imperfections in the movie that take away from an otherwise very fun experience.

The Story 

 The plot of the movie is honestly a little underwhelming though. I don’t want to say that it’s a jumbled mess, but you will feel slightly confused at some points. And the story definitely won’t blow you away. For most of the movie, I felt as if it was rushed. It was like we were being pushed from scene to scene with little time to do any sight-seeing. I found myself wishing for more scenes when it was just the Suicide Squad talking to each other (I explain more in the characters section) and not just spectating fight after fight. The villain didn’t seem threatening to me so it was kind of hard to care at some points. The squad didn’t seem challenged at all by their opponents which made it even harder to care. The story really did seem like a cut and paste job with a tacked on villain and a lack of depth. Where the movie might fall short on story however, I think it makes up with it’s cast of characters.

The Characters 

The characters and the actors were actually pretty great in this movie. Margot Robbie killed it as Harley, so did Will Smith as Deadshot. Viola Davis played the ruthless character, Amanda Waller and she did a killer job. Jai Courtney surprised me by playing a great Captain Boomerang. Basically everyone in this movie did a pretty good job (or at least I think). One of the most annoying things about the movie (as mentioned before) is that there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of interaction between the actual Suicide Squad. You can tell that the characters in the spotlight are Deadshot and Harley Quinn. The rest kind of fade into the background, delivering one liners at the appropriate times. It makes you kind of roll your eyes when they talk about being like a family (Like really? You guys have barely said ten words to each other all night). One of my favorite scenes in the movie is when the squad are in a bar (you see it in the trailer) and they’re just talking to each other, building their characters. I think these actors actually have some great chemistry with each other and it makes the bar scene really stand out from the movie. If only there were more moments like that.  

Now let’s talk about the Joker, played by Jared Leto. Now we’ve all heard the crazy stories that surrounded him while he made this movie and we’ve also heard some harsh words said about him playing as the Joker. I for one, will not be jumping to any conclusions about his character. He’s more of a cameo than an actual character in this movie and that’s not entirely a bad thing. I wouldn’t call his performance bad however. It was merely a new and interesting take on the Joker and I don’t think we’ve seen enough to judge so harshly. I for one am very excited to see more of Leto’s take on the character. If you absolutely needed to hear my opinion, however, I’d have to say that I kind of like what Leto is doing. So to all those critics that are calling for Leto’s head, let’s tone it down a little shall we? I mean the guy took this role on after Heath Ledger gave his legendary performance as the Joker in The Dark Knight. Leto’s obviously gotta be a little crazy for doing that right?

The Verdict…….. 3.0 out of 5

  • rushed story
  • lame villain
  • great actors and great chemistry

Suicide Squad is not a bad movie but it has some weird flaws in it that really annoyed me. Obviously there are always going to be people with different opinions. Feel free to let me know what you thought of this movie in the comments! Did you like Jared Leto as the Joker? Did you like the movie or did you hate it?

Thank you for reading and I’ll catch you next time…..

 

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

