Misadventures Album Review

It’s been FOUR STINKING years since Pierce the Veil released their last album, Collide With The Sky and it’s a given that fans have been dying to hear some new music. Misadventures is the 4th album by the band released May 13 of this year. A little history on my love for Pierce the Veil: the first song I heard by them was King for a Day and I was hooked. I soon bought their album, Collide with The Sky and listened to it on repeat for a few weeks. I also listened to their older albums and I just really fell in love with them. They just seemed pretty different to me, even for a postcore band. So now, after four years in the shadows, how does Pierce the Veil sound in their new album?

Awesome. They just sound awesome in this new album. It was definitely worth the four year wait to get our hands on some new music. Pierce the Veil has honestly taken it up a notch in terms of writing music. I’ve already hit repeat on this album 4 times.

The album opens with the song, ‘Dive In’, which starts off pretty slow but goes from 0 to 100 real quick. You can tell immediately from this song that Pierce the Veil is still Pierce the Veil, with their melancholy tunes and sick breakdowns. The breakdown in ‘Dive In’ is just brilliant and the rest of the breakdowns in this album follow the same formula. They all sound so groovy, like I’m serious, they all just flow really well. You don’t just want to headbang and jump around like a crazy person, you can just nod in appreciation to how it sounds (but I’ll headbang like a crazy person anyways). So yes the breakdowns are impressive and they are among some of the best I’ve heard. Besides the breakdowns, Pierce the Veil keeps the melancholy melodies that they’re so good at. Vic’s vocals match the music really well, as always and his screams are exceptional. I feel as if Pierce the Veil has struck such a great balance between brutality and melody which makes for a great listening experience. If this album has shown anything, it’s that a band can still sound just as new and refreshing when playing with the same formula.

I have a few gripes however (I know, I know). Sometimes I would be listening to the music and there were a few parts in the album (I don’t remember on which songs right now) that seemed a little forced and a little awkward. It kind of disrupted the flow of the album which is only a minor grievance.

All in all, Misadventures is a great album and was honestly worth the four year wait. Pierce the Veil has obviously still got it and they’re tearing it up with some great tunes.

The Verdict…………….4.0 out of 5

  • great breakdowns
  • excellent vocals
  • very original sounding music
  • some awkward/forced parts

Thank you guys for giving this review a read! Be sure and give this a like and a share if you liked it! Also, feel free to check out my other reviews and such on the sidebar to the left. What did you think of Misadventures? Comment below and let me know! Have a terrific week!

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

