The Hateful Eight movie review

Yes… I know I’m late

To be honest, I didn’t plan to write a review for this one. The Hateful Eight premiered in theaters on December 25, 2015 and was just released on DVD and blu-ray on March 29. When I saw this movie on Redbox however, I really wanted to watch it so I rented it. I didn’t really plan on writing a review for it though, because of how long it’s been out. I am watching this movie for the third time however and I regret with every fiber of my being, not going to see this movie in theaters. This movie is without a doubt one of the greatest movies I’ve ever seen. Despite the fact that you’ve probably already heard so much about this movie and might have even seen the movie yourself, I thought I might as well add my own two cents to the pot.

The Review

For those of you who might not have seen The Hateful Eight yet (you’re crazy if you haven’t) the movie revolves around a cast of characters, locked inside a cabin from a blizzard. Inside this cabin you have quite a few different types of characters, including bounty hunters, a hangman, a Mexican innkeeper, a past Confederate general and a prisoner being taken to hang for a reward. With so many mysterious characters, John Ruth (the bounty hunter) fears that someone might be in cahoots with Daisy Domergue (the prisoner) to free her from her fate to hang. Just like that we have a movie (but more importantly a Quentin Tarantino movie). This plot is heavy with classic Tarantino style dialogue, heavy tension, and a bloody finale. When I think about the plot, I don’t actually have any complaints about this movie. I’ve heard some people complain about how fast things came to a close, but that didn’t bother me. The first half was filled with interesting dialogue and amazing monologues (Seriously, some of my favorite I’ve ever heard) while the second half escalated so quickly, it was over before you knew it. I liked the structure of the plot and the story was very intriguing and exciting. It’s kind of hard to classify the movie into one genre, because well…… it’s a Tarantino movie. I can assure you though that this movie is kind of like a mystery. After bad stuff happens, it becomes a game of whodunit. This movie is three hours long but it zooms by in the blink of an eye. The tension was always building and you were constantly drawn to the plot, hanging on every last word said by the characters.

All of the actors did amazing jobs. It’s hard for me to pick a standout role, simply because of how amazing everyone was in this movie. I mean……. it blows my mind. Each of the actors filled their roles perfectly so props to everyone there. Every single one of the characters in the movie had different ideologies and some interesting backstories, and the actors just really brought them to life. I’ve noticed that trend in Quentin’s movies. There’s always a guarantee for great acting. There were confrontations between the characters that had nothing to do with the prisoner, Daisy Domergue and they were just as interesting as the main plot.

Also I just wanted to give a quick nod to the music in this movie. If you’ve already seen the reviews for this movie, you’ve probably heard about the soundtrack. I’m going to go ahead and reiterate the amazingness of the soundtrack however. It’s amazing. It fits the mood of this movie so perfectly well and it sounds great. The composer did a great job with the music so congratulations to him on that.

Oh and the camerawork was amazing. I feel like I’m not getting the grand scope of it all by watching it on my 32″ TV but even I can tell that this movie must really have looked magnificent in the 70 mm projection screenings. Everything about the camerawork was amazing. There were beautiful scenic shots and fast action shots during action scenes. The camera work just felt really snappy and solid.

The Verdict………5.0 out of 5.0

  • Great dialogue
  • Great tension building story
  • Amazing actors
  • Gory action

Hands down, this is my new favorite Quentin Tarantino film and maybe one of my new all time favorites. I feel as if I have much more to say on the movie, but I’m pretty sure that I’ll just be repeating myself. If you haven’t seen this movie, then I recommend it to you if you’re into Tarantino movies. Thank you for giving this review a read! Please like and share! You can also check out my other reviews in the sidebar to the left. What did you think about the movie? Comment and let me know! Thank you guys!

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

