Gods of Egypt movie review

let me open with this…

I’m very sorry that I suggested that you see this movie. I didn’t know okay? I didn’t know!

Gods of Egypt, a movie directed by Alex Proyas, starring Gerard Butler and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau was a movie with a very big budget and a very big letdown. This movie takes place in Egypt (when it was cool), a time when the Gods walked among the Earth with the humans and ruled the lands. At the beginning of the movie, Set (Gerard Butler) kills the King of Egypt who is also his brother, and defeats Horace (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) taking his eyes as a prize. So now that Set is ruling, Egypt is thrown into turmoil with Gods dying left and right. It is up to Bek (Brenton Thwaites) and Horace to overthrow Set and take back the kingdom of Egypt.

The plot

First of all, how does that not sound awesome? I’ll admit it, I was looking forward to this movie. The trailer looked awesome and the concept was really cool. But then I went to actually go see the stupid thing. Let me begin this portion of the review by saying the plot is executed poorly. The movie is entirely too long and I was bored by the halfway point. The plot raised more questions than answers them. There were parts in the movie where I was seriously confused as to what was happening. Then we got to the dumbest ending. I won’t spoil it for you guys but it’s stupid. There were a lot of parts in this movie that just really nagged at me and annoyed me. I could type for quite a while just on this section of the review but I don’t want to. Overall, this movie was structured around a poor plot that really has no bright spots in it 

The Actors and Characters 

The main character in the story goes by the name of Bek. He’s pretty much a good looking Aladin. With this guy though, there’s nothing about him that really excites. There’s nothing that drives him forward as a character. My ‘favorite’ character would probably be Horace just because of his situation and how he handled it. That doesn’t mean he didn’t annoy me at some point. Towards the end of the movie, Horace did something that he thought he couldn’t do the entire movie. When asked how he did it, he just said something along the lines of, I didn’t think I could, but I always was able. Oh my goodness. According to Annie Wilkes, that’s cheating. Unacceptable. Anyway, most of the characters are boring and the acting is sub-par at best. Every actor had moments where they seemed to be taking it too far, they were overacting.

The Dialogue

You know a movie is bad when I make a paragraph for dialogue. I don’t think I’ve done that since my first movie review for Seventh Son. I just had to talk about dialogue because it was probably a big one on my list of reasons for why I didn’t like this movie. The dialogue was so stupid! It just didn’t feel real and it was boring, which was unfortunate because I was already bored. Half the time it really felt like the actors were reading off of a script! Unnatural and boggy.

The Verdict……… 1 out of 5

  • Boring plot and confusing plot
  • boring cast of characters
  • Terrible dialogue
  • CGI looks cool (which makes sense because it’s a big budget movie)
  • Props to them for the setting though (I always like egyptian stuff)

And there it is

What did you think of Gods of Egypt? Leave a comment below and let me know! Have a great afternoon guys. Thank you for giving this a read. If you liked it go ahead and click that share button at the bottom of this page and the like button, please? Check out my other blog posts on the sidebar if you will. Feel free to subscribe if you haven’t already!

 

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

