The Girl on the Train: book review

Hey guys!

How is everyone doing today? Well I hope all is well with everyone and I hope everyone had a great start to the week. I just finished a great book called The Girl on the Train, written by Paula Hawkins and published on February 1, 2015. It’s a thriller about a girl named Rachel, who is kind of at a low point in her life. The highlight of her day is riding the train to and from her house every morning and evening. One day on her train ride, however, Rachel sees something very suspicious from her seat on the train. Shortly after she sees this, a woman, named Megan, disappears. Now what Rachel saw that morning on the train can help the police but she questions whether she really saw it or she was hallucinating. I won’t go much more into the plot than that due to the fact that it’s really just that fun reading about. The Girl on the Train is an intense and harrowing thriller that will hold your eyes until you reach the last page.

Characters

So I actually really liked the characters in this story. This was Hawkin’s first novel and she did a great job of crafting them (the characters). The main protagonist (at least she seems to be the main protagonist, but the story takes place from different viewpoints), Rachel, is a very damaged drunk who has pretty much hit rock bottom. The events in this story see her trying to get back up on her feet after her ex-husband, left her for another woman. So yeah, Rachel is not in the best condition at the beginning of this story, but that presented the opportunity for us to see her get better, which was awesome. Call me a sap, but I love to see a story about someone who hit rock bottom and has to climb back to the top through the story. Most of the characters were awesome actually. It was a very diverse cast of people. The different viewpoints really helped explained why other characters acted the way they did. You can hear their thoughts on the matter and it really helps build the characters. If there was one character that I had a problem with, it was Megan. I can’t explain why, but I never really liked her in this book. There was never a point in the story, where I really understood her. This might have been the purpose of the writer, but she (Megan) never sat well with me and I think it was because she was like this. She just wasn’t a likeable character, however, I loved the backstory that explained her past. That was probably the best part about Megan, the backstory.

The Story

Okay, so I tried to explain the plot at the beginning of this review but it goes a little deeper than that. I won’t go into it because, once again, I feel like you should read it yourself because it is a great plot. While I was reading this book a random thought popped into my head about the book, that my mom would actually really like this book because it’s like a Lifetime movie on paper. It is a good story though, it’s fast paced with some short chapters so you feel like you’re burning through it. The book does a really good job of keeping you interested. Just when you think you’ve figured the mystery out, the book throws another curveball at you. I really like that, especially in thrillers/mysteries. I have one real complaint about the story and that is the climax, when all the cards are on the table. The villain of the novel knows he’s been caught but he tries to get away with it anyway. I can’t say much without spoiling anything so I’ll speak very vaguely on this subject. Basically in the last few pages of the book, everything feels a little forced, lacking any life. The villain became a villain that you’ve seen a hundred times (in lifetime movies) and everyone acts accordingly to their part. I guess I could say that I found the ending a little anticlimactic.I wasn’t as hooked on the book once the cards were shown.

The Verdict……… 4.0 out of 5

  • fast paced story
  • short chapters
  • interesting cast of characters
  • that ending though

Thank you! 

Hey guys! Thank you for giving this blog a read! If you’re free go ahead and check out my other reviews on this website by clicking on the links below or and the links in the sidebar. If you like what you see, please share this with your friends and subscribe to me. It would mean a lot! Take care and have a great day.

Check out my movie reviews here.

Check out my music reviews here.

Check out my book reviews here.

Cover photo is courtesy of Riverhead Books.

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

