Death of a Bachelor Album Review

This album sees Panic! At the Disco being as charismatic as possible

I’ve listened to Panic’s new album, Death of a Bachelor a few times now and I still don’t know what it is that makes it so likable. I’m serious. I don’t think I’ve found a song on here that I don’t like. I wouldn’t call this album ambitious at all, and yet it is still able to pull you in, which is a great experience. When you break it down in fact, it is simply a well-written, well-executed work of art, all done by a man nearly as charismatic and charming as the album itself. I’m actually going to challenge you to listen to this album and not dance or want to sing along at some point. This album is honestly genius….

The Lyrics/Vocals

In terms of the lyrics, I think people will get what they’ve always expected from Brendon Urie. They can be very weird at some points and even comical (take the song, “Don’t Threaten me With a Good Time” for example) but overall they are very excellent. I love the song, Death of a Bachelor because of the message behind it. That same feeling goes for many of the lyrics in this album. Brendon Urie is a very creative person in terms of lyrics and they always flow so well. The lyrics in this album flow more smoothly in this album than I’ve ever heard from him (that could be because of the music too however). 

Brendon’s vocals. Oh my. That will be your reaction from this album if you have any sense. I’ve always known Brendon Urie for having that wide, but beautiful range of vocals and in this album he really shows that. He has a one of a kind voice. He’ll start a lot of the songs with some low vocals, and then as the song swells, so does his voice. Finally he bursts onto the chorus with a high but catchy voice. Before you know it, you’ll be singing along with him (or trying to) enjoying every sound of it. The combination of lyrics and vocals on this album make it worth listening to. But wait, THERE’S MORE!

The Music/Sound

The singles that were released in prologue to this album, prepared people for total Brendon Urie. TOTAL. BRENDON. URIE. This album was completely written and recorded by Brendon Urie who is now the last remaining original member of Panic! At the Disco. That means he wrote a part for every instrument on every song on this record. Good for you Brendon. You talented boy, you. That means what you’re hearing on Death of a Batchelor is all out of Urie’s mind. This guy who is majorly influenced by swing legends such as Frank Sinatra, incorporates a new sound into the music. Most of the songs on this album have an undertone of smooth jazz. From Crazy=Genius to Impossible Year all have a very Frank SInatra vibe, but with a twist of Brendon Urie. The sound and feel of this album actually make it one of the most unique experiences that I’ve ever heard. Frankly, it’s just a lot of fun. You know what that is right?

The Verdict………5.0 out of 5

  • It has a cool jazz feel to it
  • Brendon’s voice
  • creativity at it’s finest
  • catchy and a whole lot of fun

Thank you!

Hey! Thank you for taking the time to read this little review. Yes I know that it took awhile, but I really wanted to hear this album (I mean listen to it a lot) before I went off and wrote a totally positive review for it. SOmetimes I feel like I judge too quickly and that can be a problem. So yeah….. That’s why I took so long with this one. We still friends? Cool. Well then why don’t you just click that subscribe button way over there to the left, and the share button below? Can you do that one last favor for me? Thanks. I really appreciate it. Have a great day! Or a good night! Oh and please do check out my other reviews! Thank you!

Check out my movie reviews here.

Check out my music reviews here.

Check out my book reviews here.

Feature photo credit goes to: “Panic at the Disco Death of a Bachelor” by Alec Zarkower – http://www.panicatthedisco.com/. Licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0 via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Panic_at_the_Disco_Death_of_a_Bachelor.jpg#/media/File:Panic_at_the_Disco_Death_of_a_Bachelor.jpg

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

