The Black Parade (Album Review)

Welcome to The Black Parade

Hello again guys! So I’ve decided to give my own two cents on every My Chemical Romance album that was released. A week ago, I posted a review for Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge and today I will be sharing my thoughts on The Black Parade which is when My Chemical Romance hit the big time. The Black Parade was released on October 23, 2006 through Reprise Records and is considered to be My Chemical Romance’s most successful album selling over 3 million copies worldwide and gaining platinum in multiple countries and gold in others. This album was the first My Chemical Romance album that I ever heard and of course the first song I heard by them was none other than Welcome to the Black Parade. I think this album is actually a good introduction to My Chemical Romance for anybody really. It’s not exactly heavy but it carries over the same dark themes (specifically of death) that My Chemical Romance is known for. In this album, My Chemical Romance taps into a more refined rock sound that has a larger-than-life feel to it, with some gorgeous creativity.

The Lyrics and Vocals

For those that do not know, The Black Parade is a rock opera, meaning that it has a story inside of the music that you will discover as you listen to it. It is about a character called The Patient who dies in the beginning of the 281x211album and goes into the afterlife where much of the story takes place. Some of the songs written in the album are actually The Patient’s flashbacks into his past life. Anyways, it’s a very original concept story for an album and the lyrics are amazing of course (but which MCR lyrics aren’t?). Gerard Way was sober when he wrote this album actually which, in my opinion, explains why the lyrics in this album seem to be more
mature. You can tell that Gerard is more mature as a person when he wrote this album and I’m not saying that Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge is for immature teenagers who hate life blah blah blah. Three Cheers for Sweet
Revenge
 lyrics sound chaotic compared to this album. The lyrics aren’t meant for angry people, it’s meant for people who may have lost a loved one to death, or those who might be facing death. That’s not to say that they are the only ones who will enjoy this album. Like Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge, Gerard way writes great lyrics filled with imagery and metaphors. Gerard still has a one in a million kind of voice that he harnesses in the album. There is less screaming in this album however, so if you enjoyed that kind of thing then this album might not be for you. Like I said: less chaotic. Once again, the lyrics and vocals on this album are top notch like usual. People don’t just scream the anthems Welcome to the Black Parade and Teenagers just because they sound catchy. Gerard writes some meaningful lyrics that obviously have hit home to a lot of people including me. You can’t help but sing along.

The Music

Like I said in the beginning, this album has a larger-than-life feel to it and that is thanks to the music (of course). The opening song, The End, starts the-black-parade-large-msg-118160689463with just an acoustic guitar and Gerard’s singing but quickly grows into an ear-raping experience fueled by every member in the band. You can tell just from this first song that this album is going to be epic (and why
wouldn’t it be? It’s MCR after all….). 
Then you hear the opening chords of Dead! and you realize another thing: This album is going to be a lot of fun. And trust me it is. The music is absolutely brilliant and filled with
melodies. Ray Toro kills it with his power solos and lead guitar parts, powering through the song. The whole band is alive with energy in this album and it’s just awesome. The tunes are catchy and melodic and frankly, just awesome.

url2

The Verdict………5 out of 5

  • awesome rock opera
  • amazing lyrics and vocals
  • great musical melodies
  • still has that significant MCR sound to it

Fun Fact!

Did you know that Gerard Way always intended for The Black Parade to be the last My Chemical Romance album? Seriously! Since the beginning Gerard knew that he wanted The Black Parade to be the final album. Isn’t that crazy?!

Thank you!

Hey there! Thank you guys for reading my review! WHy don’t you stick around and read some other reviews that I’ve written? Maybe share this with your friends? Thank you very much! If you have any comments of your own on this album of MCR in general, feel free to leave a comment below!

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

