Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge (Album Review)

ef1359e01a8f3b3578890e575a044c29
My Chemical Romance during Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge album era. Photo courtesy of https://www.pinterest.com/pin/148829962656646050/

 

Ahhh My Chemical Romance…..

I don’t care care how long ago this album was released okay? OKAY!? Everytime I listen to this album, I am reminded why I even listen to bands like My Chemical Romance. This album, Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge was released on June 8, 2004 and it was the first major label release that My Chemical Romance had released with Reprise Records. After the release of this album, My Chemical Romance strapped in on a rocketship that headed for the stars. The album certified platinum in under a year after its release with a little over 1 million copies sold in America. Now I myself was a little late to the MCR fan party. I had heard about them a few times from friends while growing up but I never really listened to them until my senior year in high school (long after the band broke up…. sad face). I fell in love with this band and specifically this album. I have to say that Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge is not only my favorite MCR album but one of my favorite albums of any music that I listen to.

The Lyrics and the Vocals…..

You honestly can’t talk about singers in the alternative scene without mentioning Gerard Way the frontman of My Chemical Romance. Gerard Way has a way with words that I haven’t heard in any other alternative band. He has an undeniable ability to paint a picture with his words and keep us entranced with his violent vocals. Gerard Way sings with a clean and quite beautiful voice, along with screaming violently at chosen times in the album. Ray Toro and Frank Iero also provide background vocals on the record and both are quite talented at vocals. One thing that you will immediately interpret from the vocals from Gerard Way is absolute pain. This album is extremely dark for a number of reasons and Gerard’s vocals are one of those reasons. In the opening song Helena, Gerard almost sounds like he is wailing into the microphone, on the verge of tears. It creates an effect of despair that is prevalent throughout the album. Gerard’s lyrics tell amazing stories as well. They are dark (of course) and complicated but they are quite amazing when you realize what he is singing about. Just reading lyrics from this album gets me excited. Gerard has a very creative mind and he proves it with every album in MCR’s lineup, but this album takes the cake (for me personally) in terms of lyrics. If you are a fan of anything that is dark and angry, you should seriously give this a listen (even though I am sure that you have)

The music

The music in this album just blows my mind. I don’t know why, but everytime I hear a song from this album I’m just wowed. Every song has a very signature sound. A very MCR sound (if you will) and it just makes the listening experience that much better. My Chemical Romance has always considered themselves to be a pop punk, post-hardcore, alternative rock band (not emo for your information). This album shows off their post-hardcore side than any other album with fast, violent guitar riffs. One of the reasons that I have come to treasure the music in this album is because of the fact that even though My Chemical Romance is definitely not the first band of their kind, they have a way of making the music sound new. Their music has a very distinct and creative sound that lets you know: This is My Chemical Romance and it’s about to go down. Ray Toro pulls out the coolest solos I’ve ever heard from an alternative rock band. Mikey Way and Frank Iero provide not only solid rhythm parts for the album, but powerful parts as well. Every instrument is contributing in some way in this album and if you listen closely enough, you can hear that. Everybody member had a part in writing this album and the influences shine through in every member and the way they play. Of course what band would be complete without a drummer? Bob Bryar (the drummer during the time) is always on point and on beat with his drumming.  He gives a great performance with his creative drum beats to keep the band on time. Overall this band works very well together to create a fresh and dark experience for listeners.

The Verdict………. 5.0 out of 5.o

  • amazing lyrics and vocals
  • violent music for violent moods
  • dark storytelling (if you’re into that kind of thing)
  • fresh experience for fans of post-hardcore

Thank you!

So what did you guys think? I know this was my first review of anything in awhile! I apologize for that! I’ve been thinking about writing a review for all of the My Chemical Romance albums out there! What do you think of that? Comment below if you would like to see another. Also comment below if you have any requests for something that I should review. If you liked this review please share it! Check out my other pages as well please! I have plenty of content on here to keep you busy for awhile….. Thank you again!

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

