The Beauty of Music

Everyday, we find ourselves listening to music. Some people listen to music as a distraction, an escape from the real life. Some people use music as a type of therapy, to calm themselves when stressed or depressed. Other find music as a fun way to get turnt up for a good time. Either way, I think we can all agree that music makes life a little more exciting than it actually is. Anybody who personally knows me, knows that I’m a big fan of music. I listen to it day in and day out, all the time. I have been playing guitar for four years now and I still enjoy playing it everyday. To me, music is a way to express yourself. Every song that you have ever listened to, are the feelings of the writer of that song. Music has found a way to connect people with other people halfway around the world. Music is a universal language…….

When I first got into music (like hardcore bruh) was in 7th or 8th grade. I remember my friend showing me a couple of Green Day Songs from their album American Idiot and I was hooked immediately. I started to spend my money on buying Green Day albums more than I did video games. This was around the time that I was just starting to learn how to play guitar as well, so I was looking up Green Day songs to learn. I listened to Green Day exclusively for 2-3 years. Yeah I listened to other bands every once in awhile, but none of them did it for me. Not like Green Day. I’ve heard every officially released Green Day song since their debut in 1988. For those that are wondering, yes I do think that Green Day deserved to be inducted into the Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame. If there was one thing I could thank Green Day for, face to face, it would be that they introduced me to a wonderful world of some pretty awesome music.

Eventually in high school, my freshman year, I was expanding my horizons with the music I listened to. It was no longer just Green Day, but bands like Of Mice & Men, Pierce the Veil, Falling in Reverse (I like them okay? Deal with it), Blessthefall (these guys are probably my favorite out of the rest of them), Bring Me the Horizon. Basically I became a big fan of metalcore and hardcore music. Why? Because I loved the emotion. No matter what your opinion is on metalcore music, whether you hate it or you love it, you can’t deny that those bands are full of emotion. You hear it in their playing, their voices. You see it on stage on their face. I loved the heaviness of it. The brutality of the screams. The whole thing just resonated very well with me.

This brings me to where I am now. Now I listen to a much much wider range of music than ever before. I listen to alternative more than anything else though. I love Gerard Way’s solo debut Hesitant Alien, I have fallen deeply in love with the electronic band known as M83, and many others. I even enjoy the mainstream artists like The Weeknd (that new album is great actually),Walk the Moon, and even Taylor Swift. My two favorite bands (currently) are My Chemical Romance and Twenty One Pilots. Both of those bands are truly great and everyone should check them out. They have written some of the best songs I’ve ever heard, ever. Every band I have mentioned so far, I still listen to them. Every one of these artists have all been with me at different times. Their music has helped me and others overcome so much.

Another great thing about music is the nostalgia. Has anybody else listened to an album that they originally listened to a long time ago and had a nostalgic memory about the first time they heard it? The first full length Green Day album I ever bought was 21st Century Breakdown. I bought it right before I went on a boy scout trip. For the two hour bus ride, I listened to that album while reading The Stand by Stephen King. Now everytime I listen to that album, I remember reading that book. I
remember how the story went, the heat on the bus as the sun shone through the window. Every album I’ve ever heard has this kind of effect on me. It’s a sweet experience that makes music that much more great.

No matter what you listen to, you know what I’m talking about. Quit bickering and arguing about that bands are good and what bands are bad (unless you listen to BOTDF, cause that band is terrible). Enjoy the music you listen to, and enjoy it. Music is a beautiful thing that makes life a little bit more livable. By the way here’s a suggestion list of artists that I think anyone could like and love:

  • Green Day
  • Blink 182
  • All Time Low
  • Gerard Way
  • My Chemical Romance
  • Twenty One Pilots
  • PVRIS
  • Panic! At the Disco
  • Mayday Parade
  • M83
  • Bring Me the Horizon’s new album That’s the Spirit

Enjoy life, and always keep listening.

What has music done for you? Who are your favorite artists?

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

