That’s The Spirit Expectations

A New Sound….

Okay, so it’s safe to assume that everyone has heard the latest single by Bring me The Horizon titled Throne. If you haven’t heard it yet, you’ve been living under a rock (seriously, you should get out more). When I first heard the song, my first impression was, this is different. That was the only thought that crossed my mind, I had no actual opinion of it whatsoever. I listened to it several more times before deciding I liked it (I mean why wouldn’t I?). It was not only catchy but it had some awesome lyrics to accompany it. This song is also resounding proof of the change that Bring me the Horizon is committed to. When Drown was released back in early 2015, we all noticed that BMTH (give me a break, I’m lazy) was starting to sound very different. But it wasn’t until Throne was released, and their new album That’s the Spirit was announced, that we realized that this was a totally different band. This is not a bad thing. In fact, I love it when a band experiments more and more with their sound, and eventually get to the point when they sound like a totally different band from their first album. Seriously, if you haven’t heard BMTH’s first two albums, listen to a song or two from them, and then listen to the singles they’ve released in the past year. Yeah……. That happened. I think one of the things that surprised me most about Throne, were the clean vocals that Oli sang. He is quite a beautiful singer, like he has an amazing voice. Not only that, but this band still seems to have the same attitude with the feeling they want to accent in their music. The lyrics and the melodies all combine so effortlessly to create a beautiful song. Oli Sykes says that the album is a “celebration of depression” so it’s obvious that they are going to still going to be making dark music. That’s the Spirit will be released on September 11, 2015. I don’t know about you, but I think this album will be worthy of buying. Check out the singles below and let me know what you think.

Throne- Single

Drown- Single

This one is for the haters!

When I was listening to the singles on youtube, I noticed a lot of arguments in the comments (of course). Some people were saying things like “Oh this is so great! Great job guys! I love this!” Then there were the jerks who like to ruin it for everyone. They say things like “This band sucks, bring back the old BMTH!” and so on and so on. Some of the comments were just unnecessarily rude. SO this is my message to you: GROW UP! Guys they’re changing, just deal with it. We all knew it was coming, especially after Sempiternal when Oli first starting to hint at singing. And to those that say they are sell outs: they’re not. Oli states in an interview “We (the band) had to come back with something that would be impressive for people who had no idea of the history of the band.” In other words, they are trying to come up with something different. It’s not for the people that were hardcore fans of the deathcore BMTH. THEY ARE NOT SELLING OUT! If you don’t like the new BMTH, that’s fine and I respect that, but don’t slander them, and play it down for others. You’re just being a jerk. I like all of BMTH’s music, from Count Your Blessings all the way to where they are now. I guess if you don’t like the new music, you should stop listening to it…….

Thank You!

Thank you for reading my article! If you liked this, you should check out my other reviews, and articles around my website. If you approve of this website, share it with your friends and family! I’d really really appreciate it. Stick around!

Check out my movie reviews here!

Check out my music reviews here!

Check out my book reviews here!

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

