The Weekend Pick – 5/15/15

What’s worth watching at the theater? Pitch Perfect 2 or Mad Max3098219447_a5218d049a_o

Okay, so obviously these are going to appeal to very different people. The people that loved Pitch Perfect probably already have tickets to see the second one this weekend. The people that are ready for a destructive, no holding back action movie are probably really excited to see Mad Max: Fury Road. Both of these movies look really good though, and I will probably see both of them in time. I will tell you that Mad Max is the one I will be spending my weekend with. What better way to wind down from work/school than with an action-packed carnage-filled apocalypse movie?  I would understand if that isn’t your cup of tea, however, so it’s good that you have Pitch Perfect 2 to rely on. I plan to review both of these movies this weekend (hopefully). Now if you just really don’t want to deal with the crowds at the theaters (and trust me there will be crowds) you can just scroll on down to the netflix selections that I have picked out for you. Check out the trailers for the two right here!

What’s a good netflix movie? Stardust

Ah, there are so many hidden gems inside the vast list of streaming titles on Netflix. I try to pick out the movies that are not very big and well known, yet they deserve to be. For this weekend I picked Stardust. Seems like a girly title? That’s because this movie could be considered a chick flick (I know I know). This movie, which was based off of Neil Gaiman’s novel Stardust, is about a boy who embarks on a journey to bring home a fallen star to his beloved Victoria. He crosses over a wall into the magical world of Stormhold and finds the fallen star. The cool part about the story is that the boy finds out that the star is a real person. Together, the boy and the star journey back home, fighting witches, princes, and pirates. It is actually a very cool story, and I have yet to read the book (once again, I know), but I can say without a doubt, this is a very good movie. It has something for everyone! Give it a try! If you don’t like it, then fine…… I’ll just try again next week.

How about a good netflix show? Lost

Lost started way back in 2004 and has gathered quite the following. I myself have been binging it for awhile now and I have to say, this is one of the best shows on Netflix. If you haven’t given it a chance, then you should. This show invented cliffhangers (just an exaggeration). I mean who wouldn’t like a show about a group of plane survivors that crashed on a mysterious island?! Seriously, the mystery to the island is what makes the show so addicting! You keep coming back to learn more and more about the island, and the show pretty much murders you, since it only reveals bits at a time. The second the show starts, you are drawn in not only by the setting, but by the characters. Just give this show a chance and I promise you, you will not regret this one!

Books? The Perks of Being a Wallflower

No doubt you’ve probably heard of this book. If you have heard of it, but haven’t read it then SHAME ON YOU! This book is easily one of my favorites! Is it because I’m a teenager? Probably. But that does not change the fact that this is a superbly written book! I would encourage anyone to actually give it a try. It will more than likely appeal to the young adults, but I think everyone would like it actually. When I read this book, I was absolutely taken with the characters and the story. It’s about a kid who has always been the type to be behind the scenes. He doesn’t have any friends (seriously not one). Then his family moves and at his new school, he meets a group of friends that aren’t very popular and they accept him into their group. The events spread out to fill a whole year of school, through which the kid learns so much about life from his peers, teachers, and family. Finally in the end, he has to face his biggest fear: the past. An excellent book worth reading. Give this one a try……

Thank you!

Thank you for giving this a read! Like and share this with your friends! If you watched or read any of these entertainment titles I gave you, then come back and comment your thoughts on this post! Comment if you have any suggestions for me on how to make this website better! Thanks again!

Check out my movie reviews here! 

Check out my music reviews here!

Check out my book reviews here!

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

