Paper Towns Book Review

Another Brilliant book…..

I think it’s safe to say that John Green will always have a place on our bookshelves. He has written award winning book after book. Since the Paper Towns movie will be coming to theaters this summer, I decided to pick up a copy of the book to read first (of course). I have to say that this is not my favorite John Green book (Looking for Alaska will always be my favorite), but I have officially named the book one of my favorite books period. Easily in my top ten……. along with the rest of the John Green books I’ve read……. Don’t judge…….

The Story

Paper Towns is about a kid named Quentin Jacobsen who met a girl named Margo Roth Spiegelman when they were young kids. Quentin immediately found himself enthralled with her, and pretty soon they became close friends. They spent much of their childhood doing everything together. They always hung out and it was easy for them too, since they were neighbors. One day, though, they were riding their bikes and they say w dead guy sitting against a tree in the park, close to their houses (scarring much, John?). This was the point when they started to drift down different roads. Margo became more and more adventurous every day and Quentin started to become the opposite. Flash forward to their senior year, Margo has an undying reputation for being the most spontaneous person on the face of the planet. Quentin becomes a nobody and slowly fades away from the life of Margo. They don’t even talk anymore and Quentin is forced to admire her from a distance. Then one night Margo shows up at Quentin’s window, inviting him to go with her on a night of rampage and revenge. After some hesitation, Quentin obliges to go with her (oblige is a strong word though). They have a whole night of spontaneous fun and revenge. The next day after, Margo vanishes. She seems to have run away, but before she did she left clues that would speak to Quentin and Quentin only. The story is about Quentin looking for these clues, and trying to solve the mystery of the disappearance of Margo Roth Spiegelman.And there you have it: the basic plotline of another brilliant novel. I personally really liked the plot, because I think it really painted the characters well, who were a pretty awesome cast of people.

The Characters

The characters are portrayed beautifully in very stereotypical ways. You have Quentin, the guy who just sort of fades into the crowd, but really actually cares a lot about people. You have Radar, the geeky tech nerd who is Quentin’s best friend, along with Ben, who is the wannabe popular kind of kid. Throughout the story, however, you meet these characters and fall in love with them. You grow to appreciate the friendship that Quentin has with his close posse of friends. Then there is the Margo character. This one character, that you’re not sure if you should hate. Everyone has had mixed opinions on her, but the one thing everyone can agree on is that she sure does bring adventure into Quentin’s life. If she didn’t, well we wouldn’t have this story to talk about. One of the reasons I really like this book is that it really does show that everyone is different. Sometimes, you might not even know the person you thought you know. I like how John Green paints that. He has always been good with words (like non of you knew that) and he uses those words to teach young adults. Seriously if you look at his line of books, they are all young adult books. If he continues to write stories like this, count me in.

The Verdict: 5.0 out of 5.0

I personally loved the book, but not everyone will. Voice your own opinions! COmment your thoughts! I love John Green so I might be a little biased. Check out the rest of my website! I have plenty of reviews here for everybody! Share this with your friends!

Check out my movie reviews here!

Check out my music reviews here!

Check out my book reviews here!

Published by

Colby Farr

I just really like writing things and talking about movies music and books, so I thought: Why not put that together?

Leave a Reply

